Question Details
2nd Opinion Kidney Disease In A Dog
by jschell - November 28, 2017    View Case Report
Hello
Wendigo's littermate is doing really well- her SDMA and crea and urea are all normal now after starting BWDHW and SanRen TAng formulas.

However, Wendigo still has SDMA at 16 (above from 15) and crea is climbing up to 185, even though he is also on BWDHW and SRT.

What do you think I could try to help him further?

Thank you!
Julie
Replies
by MatthewJMuir
December 1, 2017
Has muscle mass score changed between renal stagings?

Take care intepreting SDMA levels if there is haemolysis as it can behave erratically based on absence or extent of haemolysis on sample.

Await others feedback re: TCVM energetics and recommendations.

Matt
by MatthewJMuir
December 1, 2017
Julie,

I am still studying TCVM but do work with experience herbalists.

I guess my mentors would ask by saying what are the reasons for the two formulas used (apologies if there was a previous thread with rationale explained)

Also ensure he doesnt have any sequalae including UTI/ crystalluria.

Is there any other differences between the litter mates, heat/cold intolerance, historical gastrointestinal disease issues etc.

Is she on any other herbs, supplementation, diet modifications for other issues that may be further supporting kidneys by default, i.e. probiotics for gut problems re: microbiota difference on renal function.

Do you have a western biomedical dx for the cause of kidney disease? if it is cystic perhaps he has larger cysts?

Depending on signalment, and dog is clinically well, perhaps an SDMA of 16 and Creat < 200 may be ok with ongoing support to support remaining nephrons/ slow fibrosis.

Do you have a UPCR?

Matt
by naturevet
December 2, 2017
Hi Julie,

One thing you could try is just upping your doses of both formulas. Or if things really started to move along once Rehmannia was added, you could give even more of just that one formula.